On the second day of the Para-Cycling Road World Championships, at Estoril Circuit, Great Britain’s team gave the competition no chance, taking four of the eleven titles awarded today.

The British team were not affected by the strong wind at the Estoril Circuit, winning four world titles on a day of individual time trials. In the women’s class, Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall won the B class race and Sarah Storey renewed the world title, won in 2019, in the C5 class. In the same class, Crystal Lane-Wright won the silver medal. Great Britain also took the men’s B class title, with Stephen Bate and Adam Duggleby, as well as the C4 class title, with George Peasgood.

The French team were the second team with the most wins on this second day of competition, both in the men’s races. Florian Bouziani won in the C3 class and Alexandre Leaute in the C2 class. France also managed to get four more podiums, with Dorian Foulon taking the silver medal in C5, Alexandre Lloveras and Corentin Ermenault in class B, Elise Marc in class C3 and Katell Alencon in class C4.

The remaining titles were distributed among five other nations. In the men’s category, the Netherlands won the gold medal in the C5 class, with Daniel Abraham Gebru, and Spain in the C1 class, with Ricardo Ten Argiles. In the women’s class, Colombia won in C2, with Daniela Carolina Munevar, Sweden in C3, with Anna Beck, and Canada, in C4, with Marie-Claude Molnar.

Tomorrow the time trial races continue on the Estoril Circuit, this time in the handbike (H) and tricycle (T) categories, between 10am and 11am and between 2pm and 6.30pm.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?