Balance was the dominant word on the fourth day of competition in the Para-Cycling Road World Championships, at the Estoril Circuit, in Cascais. On the first day with road races, eleven titles were awarded. These were distributed among nine different countries, a clear sign of competitiveness.

Only two teams were able to celebrate two world titles on Saturday. The “God Save de Queen” was played in honour of the women’s B class (tandem) duo, made up of Sophie Unwin and Jenny Holl. Also Sarah Storey, who today revalidated the women’s C5 road title, two days after she managed to get the same result in the time trial. Germany celebrated the victories of Pierre Senska in men’s C1 and Maike Hausberger, who revalidated the gold in women’s C2.

Individually, it is also worth mentioning the French Alexrandre Leaute, the Canadian Marie-Claude Molnar and the Swedish Anna Beck who, after winning the time trials, did the double in the men’s C2, women’s C4 and women’s C3 road races.

Fabio Anobile’s victory in the sprint by twelve at the end of the C3 class race allowed Italy to consolidate the status of team with more gold medals. The transalpine team reaches the penultimate day of the competition with nine world titles. They have three more than the British and four more than the Netherlands, who were blank today.

The other winners today were the Spanish Christian Venge and Noel Martín, in men’s B class, the Slovakian Patrik Kuril in C4 and the Brazilian Lauro Charman in C5.

Portugal had eight athletes racing this Saturday. Ana Silva and Isabel Caetano concluded the B class race in 13th place, one lap behind the winners. Bernardo Vieira got the best absolute national result, with the 7th place in C1 class, one lap behind the first. Telmo Pinão, 11th among the 23 participants in C2 class, got the best relative result of the Portuguese team, spending 7m36s more than the winner. Paulo Teixeira made his World Cup debut with the 15th place in C3, one lap away from the front of the race.

João Monteiro was the Portuguese representative in the C4 race, two laps behind the winner. In C5 ran Hélder Maximino and Manuel Ferreira, both one lap behind the first.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?